Are you Aware that Facebook Had Keyboard Shortcuts?

http://www.willappsug.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Facebook-Shortcut-Keys.jpg

Whether you like to admit it or not, you probably spend a good amount of your life on Facebook. And I’m willing to guess that you’d prefer not to waste your life away looking at wedding photos of people you barely know.

Which is why it’d behoove you to learn some handy desktop keyboard shortcuts for the site. Yes, that’s right –– Facebook has its own keyboard shortcuts, which can help you zoom through the site without dragging around your mouse.

Here’s a full list of the most useful keyboard tricks:

News Feed shortcuts
You can use these when you’re browsing the News Feed, that list of stories you see in the center column when you surf to www.facebook.com.

  • j and k: Tab down and up between posts. Press j to go to the next post; press k to go up to the previous post. You’ll know you have selected a post because a thick black line will show up to the left of that post.
  • l: Like or unlike a selected story.
  • c: Comment on a selected story.
  • s: Share a selected story.
  • o: Open the attachment of a selected story.
  • p: Post a status. Press p to get your cursor in the new status box and start typing.
  • / (slash):Open up the search box.
  • q: Search chat contacts.
  • Enter: Tab from the tagging, location, or feeling sections to the text box when making a post.

And, most importantly, if you forget any of these

  • ?: Open the list of keyboard shortcuts while in News Feed.

Access keys
You should be able to use these from any page on Facebook.

These guys vary by what browser and computer you’re using. So you’ll have to remember the specific code (below) that precedes each access code number. So if you want to open up Help on Chrome for Mac, you would hold down the Control, Option, and 0 keys.

Internet Explorer for PC: Alt + [#], then Enter

Firefox for PC: Shift + Alt + [#]

Chrome for PC: Alt + [#]

Safari for Mac: Control + Option + [#]

Firefox for Mac: Control + Option + [#]

Chrome for Mac: Control + Option + [#]

Even if you integrate two or three of these into your everyday Facebook stalking, you might be able to shave a few minutes off the time you spend online every day. Use it to get a beautiful manicure, like the hand model pictured at the top of this post.

Via

Configure Your Facebook Privacy to Avoid Getting Fired

How to Configure Your Facebook Privacy to Avoid Getting Fired

In the same way that opening your mouth can get you in trouble, anything you post to Facebook has the potential of putting you in hot water, too. It can cost your job, if you’re not careful.

So if you care about being employed, here’s some advice: Get your Facebook privacy settings in order before you post.

To make sure that your posts are reaching the right eyes, and only the right eyes, Facebook has provided easy-to-use sharing and privacy options. Here’s how to use them (or, to put it another way, here’s how to keep yourself out of trouble).

From the Update Status box
Before sending off a new post, you can actually designate who gets to see it by clicking the drop-down button just to the left of the Post button. Here you’ll find options for sharing with the Public, which lets everyone read it, and with Friends, which lets only people you’ve added as friends read it. You can also share with different lists of friends, which can either be created yourself from scratch, or by Facebook automatically.

It might be a good idea to create a list of friends who will enjoy your rants and raves — and that does not include your employer, or any potential employers. Here’s how.

image

The Status Update box.

Manage lists of friends
Facebook’s automated lists are tied to interests like school, work, and location, as well as frequency of contact. You can edit these lists and create new ones from the Friends settings section. Get there by clicking the Friends header on the left side of your News Feed/Home page (left below).

image

Selecting the name of a list from here (above right) will bring you to its page. Click the Manage List button, and then select the Edit List option to add or remove friends from the list (below).

image

Manage List button from a list’s page.

Next, you’ll see an edit window where you can add and remove friends from your list (below).

image

Another way to add friends to specific lists is from a friend’s profile page. Click the Friends button to show a drop-down menu with options (left below).

image

Add friends to lists from their profile pages.

Now that you’ve created a privacy-friendly list, make sure you’re sharing your personal posts only with that list, and not “Public” or “Friends.”

Who can see my stuff?
The options above will keep all your future posts from reaching people whom you’d rather they not. But what about your old posts? That’s where the Who can see my stuff? settings come in.

To view these options, click the menu arrow (below) from the Facebook home page. Then select Settings from the drop-down box.

image

On the left side of the General Accounts Settings screen, you’ll see different categories. Select Privacy. You’ll find the Who can see my stuff? section first in the Privacy Settings and Tools screen.

Turning on the Limit the audience for old posts on your timeline option will change all of your posts that were previously public to friends-only.

image

The Activity Log
Another option in the same Privacy Settings and Tools menu called Review all your posts and things you’re tagged in will bring you to the Activity Log (which can also be accessed from the home page Settings menu). The Activity Log (below) allows you to go through and remove yourself from other people’s posts that have you tagged.

image

The Activity Log.

This is for the times your friends check you in somewhere you’re not supposed to be (or maybe when your mother posts an embarrassing picture of you). Clicking the pencil icon and selecting Delete will take the post out of your Timeline and remove your name off of your friend’s post. You can also manually modify the audience of your own previous posts in the Activity Log.

And that’s about it. Take these measures to avoid needless oversharing and ensure that your Facebook activity is viewable only by the groups of friends you choose. And remember, if you do choose to share posts with your boss, make sure to stay off Facebook on your so-called “sick days.”

VIA

 

View and Erase Your Facebook Search History

How to View (and Erase) Your Facebook Search History1

Whenever you search for something on Facebook, your search terms get stored in your Activity Log. Here’s how to view it (and erase if, if you so desire).

The Activity Log is only viewable by you, but if you want to erase any of your old searches for whatever reason—or even if you just want to view them (to find something you forgot)—it’s really easy to find!

Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of Facebook, and head to Activity Log. from there, click the “More” button in the left sidebar to reveal the “Search” option. Click on it to view your search history. If you want to erase it, there’s a button in the upper right-hand corner to do just that.

We couldn’t find a setting that turns this history off entirely, unfortunately, but again—the posts are only visible by you, so it shouldn’t be a huge problem.

How to Erase Everything You Search For On Facebook | Business Insider